Followers

Follow by Email

Be a Social Blogger

Wednesday, October 29, 2014

Waiting on Wednesday #134

 
Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill at Breaking The Spine and is where we can talk about books we are looking forward to being released.
 
 
Court of Fives
 
Summary:
 
A teenage girl secretly competes in her city's prestigious athletic competitions in this high-fantasy adventure that can be pitched as Game of Thrones meets The Hunger Games meets Little Women.

In this imaginative escape into an enthralling new world, World Fantasy Award finalist Kate Elliott's first young adult novel weaves an epic story of a girl struggling to do what she loves in a society suffocated by rules of class and privilege.

Jessamy's life is a balance between acting like an upper class Patron and dreaming of the freedom of the Commoners. But at night she can be whoever she wants when she sneaks out to train for The Fives, an intricate, multi-level athletic competition that offers a chance for glory to the kingdom's best competitors. Then Jes meets Kalliarkos, and an unlikely friendship between a girl of mixed race and a Patron boy causes heads to turn. When a scheming lord tears Jes's family apart, she'll have to test Kal's loyalty and risk the vengeance of a powerful clan to save her mother and sisters from certain death.
Summary & Cover taken from Goodreads.com
Length: 448 pages (Hardcover)
Expected Publication Date: August 18th 2015 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
 
Why I'm Waiting:
 
I've been wanting to read a book by Kate Elliot for a few years now, but I've been hesitant to try her adult fantasy stuff so I'm really excited about how this YA debut sounds.
 
Seeker (Seeker, #1)
 
Summary:
 
For readers of A Game of Thrones and The Hunger Games comes an epic new series.

The night Quin Kincaid takes her Oath, she will become what she has trained to be her entire life. She will become a Seeker. This is her legacy, and it is an honor. As a Seeker, Quin will fight beside her two closest companions, Shinobu and John, to protect the weak and the wronged. Together they will stand for light in a shadowy world. And she'll be with the boy she loves--who's also her best friend.

But the night Quin takes her Oath, everything changes. Being a Seeker is not what she thought. Her family is not what she thought. Even the boy she loves is not who she thought.

And now it's too late to walk away.
Summary & Cover taken from Goodreads.com
Length: 448 pages (Hardcover)
Expected Publication Date: February 10th 2015 by Delacorte Books for Young Readers
 
Why I'm Waiting:
 
The cover is what caught my eye at first and then I read the summary which is a little vague but I like how it leaves the story a mystery. This is one I'm definitely looking forward to getting my hands on in the new year.
 
if-youre-here-blinkie 
 
 
 

Library Loot #40

Library Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Claire from The Captive Reader and Linda from Silly Little Mischief that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it using the Mr. Linky any time during the week. And of course check out what other participants are getting from their libraries.
 
The Haul:
 
My Theodosia: A NovelThe DeltaBitterblue (Graceling Realm, #3)Where She Went (If I Stay, #2)Shade & Sorceress (The Last Days of Tian Di, #1)African Queen: The Real Life of the Hottentot Venus
Soulless (Parasol Protectorate, #1)Soulless: The Manga, Vol. 2Soulless: The Manga, Vol. 3
 
if-youre-here-blinkie 

Tuesday, October 28, 2014

Top Ten Tuesday #81

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created here at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because we are particularly fond of lists here at The Broke and the Bookish. We'd love to share our lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see your top ten lists!
 
 Top Ten Books To Read To Get In The Halloween Spirit:
 
The RitualBird BoxThe Terror
Primeval (Event Group Adventure, #5)Relic (Pendergast, #1)Reliquary (Pendergast, #2)The ShadowkillerStill MissingMeg (MEG, #1)Heartsick (Gretchen Lowell, #1)
 
All of my picks this week have monsters in them. Some are human, most aren't.
 
if-youre-here-blinkie 

Teaser Tuesday #66

 Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
 
• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
 BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers
 
Succubus Blues (Georgina Kincaid, #1)
 
Summary:
 
When it comes to jobs in hell, being a succubus seems pretty glamorous. A girl can be anything she wants, the wardrobe is killer, and mortal men will do anything just for a touch. Granted, they often pay with their souls, but why get technical?
But Seattle succubus Georgina Kincaid's life is far less exotic. At least there's her day job at a local bookstore--free books; all the white chocolate mochas she can drink; and easy access to bestselling, sexy writer, Seth Mortensen, aka He Whom She Would Give Anything to Touch but Can't.

But dreaming about Seth will have to wait. Something wicked is at work in Seattle's demon underground. And for once, all of her hot charms and drop-dead one-liners won't help because Georgina's about to discover there are some creatures out there that both heaven and hell want to deny. . .
Summary & Cover taken from Goodreads.com
Length: 343 pages (Paperback)
Publication Date: March 1st 2007 by Kensington (first published February 27th 2007)
 
 
Pg. 43
 
Teasing laced his words. There had always been an unspoken mystery between Peter and me concerning which of us was the oldest of the mortals-turned-immortals in our little circle. Neither of us would openly admit our age, so we'd never really determined who had the most centuries.
 
if-youre-here-blinkie 

Tuesday Jams #33

 
Tuesday Jams is a meme where you share your favourite songs. bands and the current song you're feeling and is hosted by Sharonda from Salacious Reads
 
 
 
 

 
Because P!nk is hilarious and so is the song.
 

if-youre-here-blinkie